STATE OF MINNESOTA

OFFICE OF APPELLATE COURTS

MAR 1 7 2005

FILED

IN SUPREME COURT

ADM-05-8002

ORDER ESTABLISHING THE MINNESOTA SUPREME COURT CHEMICAL DEPENDENCY TASK FORCE

WHEREAS, persons who suffer from alcohol and other drug (AOD) addiction and dependency represent a pervasive and growing challenge for Minnesota's judicial branch, and in particular its criminal justice system;

WHEREAS, the problem and impact of AOD dependency is not confined to any one case type or group of case types, but pervades all case types in the judicial branch;

WHEREAS, in recent years alternative and demonstrably more effective judicial approaches for dealing with AOD-dependent persons, and particularly criminal offenders, have evolved both in Minnesota and other states;

WHEREAS, increasing resources exist at both the state and national level to support the development of such alternative approaches;

WHEREAS, Minnesota courts would benefit from a more deliberate and coordinated effort to investigate the current extent of the problem of AOD-dependent persons who come in to the courts, and to assess available strategies and approaches for addressing that problem;

WHEREAS, on November 30, 2004, the Conference of Chief Judges unanimously voted to recommend that this Court establish a task force charged with exploring the problem of chemical dependency and identifying potential approaches and resources for addressing that problem.

1

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the Minnesota Supreme Court Chemical Dependency Task Force is established.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the Task Force shall:

- Conduct background research on specific issues concerning AOD-dependent persons,
 and particularly AOD-related offenders, including:
 - a. The current extent of the problem of AOD-dependent persons, and particularly AOD offenders, in the Minnesota judicial branch;
 - b. The cost(s) of the problem and benefit(s) of proposed solutions;
 - c. Identification and assessment of current judicial strategies to address the problem of AOD-dependent persons, and particularly AOD offenders, both in Minnesota and other states;
 - d. Determination of the current and potential effectiveness of drug courts and other alternative approaches in Minnesota.
- 2. Conduct an inventory of current multi-agency, state-level AOD efforts in Minnesota as well as in other states, including:
 - a. Identification of promising practices;
 - b. Identification of gaps and redundancies.
- 3. Identify and recommend approaches, solutions, and opportunities for collaboration.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the Task Force shall submit two (2) reports to the Supreme Court, which will include the results of its research and its recommendations for optimal development of alternative judicial approaches for dealing with AOD-dependent persons who come in to the Minnesota judicial branch. An initial report focusing specifically on AOD-related criminal and juvenile offenders shall be submitted by January 1, 2006; and a Final Report focusing on the overall impact of AOD dependency across all case types shall be submitted by September 30, 2006.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the Honorable Joanne Smith is appointed Task Force Chair; and the Honorable Gary Schurrer is appointed Task Force Vice Chair.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the following persons are appointed as members of

the Task Force:

Honorable Joanne Smith, Ramsey County, Chair

Honorable Gary Schurrer, Washington County, Vice-Chair

Jim Backstrom, Dakota County Attorney

Lynda Boudreau, Deputy Commissioner, Minnesota Department of Human Services

Chris Bray, Assistant Commissioner, Minnesota Department of Corrections

Mary Ellison, Deputy Commissioner, Minnesota Department of Public Safety

Jim Frank, Sheriff, Washington County

John Harrington, Chief, St. Paul Police

Pat Hass, Director, Pine County Health and Human Services

Brian Jones, Assistant District Administrator, First Judicial District

Fred LaFleur, Director, Hennepin County Community Corrections

Honorable Gary Larson, Hennepin County

Bob Olander, Human Services Area Manager, Hennepin County

Shane Price, Director, African American Men's Project

Honorable Robert Rancourt, Chisago County

Senator Jane Ranum, Minnesota Senate

Commissioner Terry Sluss, Crow Wing County

Representative Steve Smith, Minnesota House of Representatives

John Stuart, State Public Defender

Kathy Swanson, Director, Office of Traffic Safety, Minnesota Dept. of Public Safety

Honorable Paul Widick, Stearns County

Associate Justice Helen Meyer (Supreme Court Liaison)

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that Task Force vacancies shall be filled by Order of this

Court.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that staff for the Task Force shall be provided by the

Court Services Division of the State Court Administrator's Office.

DATE: March / 4, 2005

BY THE COURT:

Kathleen A. Blatz

Vahre 1. Beg

Chief Justice